Young Composers of Michigan

The Young Composers of Michigan (YCM) provides an opportunity for students from Michigan to have their creative work heard, recognized, and celebrated. YCM aims to support the development of students as Creators, Producers and Performers. YCM is open to all k-12 students from Michigan. All you need to do…Use the link below to submit at least one original piece of music. You will receive feedback and comments from highly experienced musicians, composers, and industry professionals and you become a part of the YCM Community. In addition, YCM hosts an annual live concert celebrating the top student composers in Michigan with live performances of their pieces at the Annual Michigan Music Conference. If your piece is chosen, you may have it performed live in front of an audience. 

Recognition, Development, and Opportunities for Performance

All submissions will receive comments and feedback from highly experienced Musicians, Composers, and Music Industry Professionals. Feedback and comments are designed to help composers develop their ideas and learn from listening to different perspectives on their work.

Students may choose to put their work in the running to be FEATURED in a LIVE PERFORMANCE on Saturday, January 21, 2023 at the Amway Grand Hotel in Grand Rapids Michigan as part of the 2023 Michigan Music Conference. If your work is chosen, you will work with the production team to perform your piece in front of a live audience.

Who is Eligible?

Any K-12 student in the State of Michigan is eligible to submit a composition. 

Press release – November 1, 2022

The Michigan Music Education Association is thrilled to announce the lineup for the 2023 Young Composers of Michigan Premier Concert. 

Students in grades 1-12 from all over Michigan submitted their original compositions. We assembled a Mentor Panel of professional musicians/composers/educators to listen, review, and provide feedback on each piece. The panel then picked the compositions that will be featured in the 2023 Young Composers of Michigan Concert on January 21, 2023 at the Michigan Music Conference in Grand Rapids, MI. 

Congratulations to the 2023 Lineup of featured composers:

  • “The Sleepy Polar Bear” by Juniper Walker, Marble Elementary School, East Lansing, MI.
  • “Drive” by Scott Dreaver, Orchard Hills Elementary, Novi, MI.
  • “Flowers” by Aarya Kurup, Orchard Hills Elementary, Novi, MI. 
  • “In Line” by Amaya Rizvi, Orchard Hills Elementary, Novi, MI. 
  • “Mountains” by Henry Chubb, Orchard Hills Elementary, Novi, MI.
  • “On The Way” by Haoze Arthur Li, Orchard Hills Elementary, Novi, MI.
  • “I’m Running Out” by Salvador Ruiz-Nunex, Pattengill Elementary, Ann Arbor, MI.
  • “Sonatine” by Janet Rucker, Legg Middle School, Coldwater, MI. 
  • “Sonatina for Oboe and Piano” by Eric Rucker, Coldwater High School, Coldwater, MI.
  • “Railroad Street” by Gwendellyn Doerfler, Dewitt High School, Dewitt, MI. 
  • “Track Fanfare” and “Almost Home” by John Danzinger, East Lansing High School, East Lansing, MI. 
  • “Duckling Duet” by Samantha Sutter, Fitzgerald High School, Warren, MI.
  • “The Noble Knight” and the Dreadful Dragon by Sam Critchley, Lake Orion High School, Lake Orion, MI. 
  • “Magic” by Justain Oscar, Mona Shores High School, Norton Shores, MI. 
  • “Prelude Op. 13 No. 2” by Noah Sutton, Mona Shores High School, Norton Shores, MI. 
  • “The Difference of the Sum” by Mitchell Roth, North Farmington High School, Farmington Hills, MI. 
  • “String Quartet No. 2” by Jonah Midtgard, Troy High School, Troy, MI. 

Congratulations to our 2020 Honors Composition winners!

Maddie Bennett – Acting Insane
Jonah Cohen – Images from an Original Theme
Will Collin – Close Encounter
Sam Critchley – Flying Squirrels
Gwendellyn Doerfler – A Summer Day’s Night
Leah Dunn – Hotel
Zach Franklin – Octopi Rag
Ted Garneau – Auburn Coals
Sean Gleason – Horn Sonata (scherzo)
Miles Goedert – Sketches
Adam R Lenhart – The Message
Breezy Love – Think Too Much
Joseph Miller – Ode to a Clump of Fur
Matthew Osterholzer – Loose Screws
G. Sander Owens – Toccata Moderna
Ian Plansker – L’aigle Chaconne
Eric Rucker – Piano Concerto No. 2
Richard Shao – Peaceful Views
Teddy Tolbert & Tyler Mutinda – Truth to Power
Aaron Wang – 5 Vignettes 
Jason Zhang – Sentimientos


  • Andrew Wassell – 4 Summer Scenes
  • Evan Gedert – Sands of Eternity
  • G. Sander Owens – Ruminations on 574766
  • Ian Plansker – Rondo for Piano and Orchestra
  • Jack Reeves – O Fortuna
  • Jonah Cohen – Waltz of the Forgotten
  • Joseph Miller – Variations on a Portuguese Folk Dance
  • Kinley Kiefer – I Could Sing to You
  • Lillia McCurdy – Saoirse
  • Maura Drinkert – Change on the Horizon
  • Miles Goedert – Two Pieces for Cello and Piano
  • Sean Gleason – Trombone Duet
  • Shuto Nakagawa – Cosmos
  • Weston Welch – Passages
  • William Collin – Autumn Trio


  • Nicholas Bhandari – Beginning, End, and All in Between
  • Tom Bowerman – Beginning, End, ad All in Between
  • Maura Drinkert – The Ticking Clock
  • Alex Ge – Harmonies of the Mystic Forest
  • Miles Goedert – The Lost Muse
  • Noah Mallett – The Peevish Little Parakeet
  • Larissa Michel – Elegie
  • Joseph Miller – Night Time Thoughts
  • Ancel Neeley – Through Silver Moonlight
  • Ian Plankster – Clavicembalo Sonata in G
  • Jack Reeves – In The Water/The Fall
  • Matthew Tan – Composition Project for Tamir
  • Weston Welch – Distant Hope
  • Jacob Zufall – Turbulence


  • Charles Berofsky – Cascade
  • Carly Bins – One Shot of Courage
  • Lucy Freeman – Blizzard
  • Miles Goedert – Soliloquy
  • Andrew Gretzinger – Elegie Appassionato
  • Vaughn Haynes – Dance the Night Away
  • Noah Mallett – Scherzo
  • Liam McElroy – Autumn Sky
  • Joseph Miller – Prelude in Bb Minor
  • Sara Morden – Beyond the Elements
  • Ancel Neeley – Askew
  • Ian Plankster – Sonata for Two
  • Clayton Riegger – Violincello Sonata in la Minore: Allegro
  • Nikolas Simon – Recitative and Allegro Inspired by Sarasate
  • Kendall Trinka – Hostage
  • William VanZytyeld – Classical Musings
  • Andrew Wassell – New England
  • Weston Welch – Winter’s Night
  • Nick Wood – The Passion of Jesus Christ

The Michigan Music Education Association (MMEA) thanks you and your students for participating in our events.  As part of all our activities pictures and videos are taken.  MMEA later uses these photographs and videos in all aspects of our online and print media.  Please contact us at if you know of a student who does not wish to appear in photos or videos so we can take steps to maintain their privacy.  Thank you!