MMEA Awards

Pictured above from left are Dr. Christina Hornbach (Award of Merit, 2016) and Judy Palac (2016 Music Educator of the Year)

MMEA offers eight awards to recognize notable achievements and support for music education.  These awards, presented in no particular order, include the Award of Merit, the Outstanding Administrator MMEA Recognition Award, the Hilda E. Humphrey Service Award, the Music Educator of the Year Award, the Ruth Ann Knapp Advocacy for Music Education Award and the New Directions in Music Education Award (even years only). All awards will be presented at the MMEA coffee hour during the Michigan Music Conference in January (Grand Rapids). Additional information on each award can be found at the links below. 

Nominations for 2022 awards have now closed. 2023 nominations will open in February 2023.

Award of Merit
Recognizes an individual who has given exemplary service to the MMEA and music education in Michigan. 

Outstanding Administrator Award
Recognizes administrative support for music education. This award will be made to individuals who have demonstrated active, on-going support for balanced music programs. 

MMEA Recognition Award
Recognizes those who have given 25 years of service to music education.

Hilda E. Humphrey Service Award
Recognizes early career teachers who have become involved in the work of the Michigan Music Educators Association

Music Educator of the Year Award
Recognizes outstanding merit in music teaching, this award will be made to individuals who have served their students, communities and profession in a exemplary manner. 

Ruth Ann Knapp Advocacy for Music Education Award
Recognizes an individual music educator, organization or corporation who has demonstrated outstanding sustained support and/or advocacy for music education programs in Michigan at the local, state, and/or federal level.

New Directions in Music Education Award
Recognizes music educators and music teacher education programs who have successfully integrated and sustained innovative programming in PK-16 music education. Nominations for this award are accepted in even years only.