Honors Composition Concert

Submissions are now being accepted for the 2016-2017 Honors Composition Contest.  CLICK HERE for all necessary forms & online registration.
The MMEA Honors Composition Concert is an outstanding event that provides an opportunity for students to compose and perform original music, and is open to students in grades K-12.  Winners are invited to perform their compositions at the Michigan Music Conference (MMC,) held in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  Composers can perform their piece on their own or in a small ensemble, conduct a large ensemble performing their work or solicit musicians to perform the composition.  All winners are responsible for obtaining their own performers.
This year’s Honors Composition Concert will take place on Saturday, January 21, 2017 at 11 AM (please note new time) during the Michigan Music Conference (MMC.)  The Ambassador Ballroom is the performance site, located in the beautiful Amway Grand Plaza Hotel (downtown Grand Rapids.)

Please note these changes that were instituted last year:
1.  The registration portion is now ONLINE.  We encourage you to complete the online form & credit card payment option–but you are certainly welcome to use the emailed form & mailed check option if you prefer.
2.  All application materials will be submitted in electronic format.  The registration form outlines the steps necessary for emailing all forms to us.
3.  Each submission must be accompanied by a $20 application fee.  This fee shall be made payable to the Michigan Music Education Association and mailed to the address listed on the registration form.  Any student needing financial assistance is encouraged to contact MMEA ASAP for help with this fee.  No student shall be turned away due to financial hardship!
4.  Notation in ANY form is required for all students grades 7-12.  K-6 students are not required to submit notation, though welcome to do so if they wish.
Please contact Brooke Broughton (mmeahonorscomposition@gmail.com) 
Cory Micheel-Mays (cmicheelmays@sbcglobal.net)

The Michigan Music Education Association (MMEA) thanks you and your students for participating in our events.  As part of all our activities pictures and videos are taken.  MMEA later uses these photographs and videos in all aspects of our online and print media.  Please contact Cory Micheel-Mays (cmicheelmays@sbcglobal.net) if you know of a student who does not wish to appear in photos or videos so we can take steps to maintain their privacy.  Thank you!


  • Emmeline Beck
  • Carly Bins
  • Atticus Dewey
  • Vaughn Haynes
  • Kathryn Jorgensen
  • Nicole Liang
  • Christian MacCartny
  • Molly Monahan
  • Tess Monahan
  • Ancel Neeley
  • Thomas Rachman
  • Clayton Riegger
  • Alan Sun
  • Austin Zeglis

    We received many outstanding submissions, and we congratulate all who submitted compositions. 

  • Joshua Birdsong, Howell — Nothing Compares to You
  • Tyler Bouque, Troy — March to the Sea
  • Alyssa Campbell, Grosse Point Park — String Quartet No. 1 in G Minor
  • Sierra Cornell, Ann Arbor — The Story of a Girl Named Atlas
  • Nikhil Deenadayalu, Superior Township — Ultionem Titanis
  • Sahil Deenadayalu, Superior Township — The White Lion
  • Madison Douglas, Interlochen — Chasing Rainbows
  • Cory Hilton, Chesterfield Township — From the Ashes
  • Daniel Israel, Fort Gratiot — Specks of Blue
  • Jing Liu, Interlochen — The Old Paths
  • Christian McCarthy, Allegan — Grass & Goodwinds I
  • Noah Mallett, Big Rapids — Etude Sonata Mvt. II
  • Molly Monahan, Interlochen — Le Voilier
  • Josh Moss, Ann Arbor — Blizzard
  • Timothy Parsons, West Bloomfield — The Vast Expanse fro the Voyage Suite, Mvt. II
  • Aditya Ravi, Novi — Identity
  • Nikolas Simon, Bloomfield Hills — Caprice No. 1
  • Ben Snoek, Holland — On New Horizons
  • Ava Suppelsa, Interlochen — This Time
  • Maria Zurbuchen, Ann Arbor — The Unknown


  • Hanna Ayrault, Grosse Pointe Park – Fighter
  • Tyler Bouque, Troy – Queen of Halves Dahlia’s Web
  • Logan Butler, Jackson – There Will Come Soft Rains
  • Alyssa Campbell, Grosse Pointe – Three Part Fugue in C minor
  • Ruby Collins, Interlochen – Down Hill
  • Sierra Cornell, Ann Arbor – Love Lies
  • Latia Delks, Ecorse – Family
  • James Fischer, Ann Arbor – Control Alt Delete
  • Paige Goetz, Commerce Township – Forgotten Sunlight
  • Nicole Liang, Canton – A Day at the Market
  • Natasha Lord, Taylor – Where You Are Near
  • Molly Monahan, Holland – Two Ragas
  • Ancel “Fitz” Neeley, Dewitt – Egypt
  • Anvit Rao, Ann Arbor – Hide and Seek
  • Mary Reinman, Grosse Pointe Farms – Taking My Bow
  • Nick Shevnock, Port Huron – Wind 
  • Ben Snoek, Holland – Rhapsodia
  • Theodora Tolbert, Ypsilanti – Walking Forward
  • Zachary Turner, Beverly Hills – Holes in the Plot
  • Jonathan Valente, Grosse Pointe Farms – Reflections on the Cosmos
  • Collin Will, Dexter – Tsouke’s Dance



  • Brian Anstett, Royal Oak – Child Melody Suite, Movement 3ONLY
  • Hannah Ayrault, Grosse Pointe Park – Sophomore
  • Mary Beer, Plymouth – The Happy Grasshopper and the Merry Cricket
  • Cari Bohm, Ann Arbor – Busy as a Bee
  • Tyler Bouque, Troy – The Devil’s Lair
  • Alyssa Campbell, Gross Point Park – Gypsy Revelations
  • Sarah Gallagher Northville – Cast a Spell
  • Alexandra Ha rder, Novi – When Worlds Collide
  • Hamza Hussein, Canton – Winter Wind
  • Natasha Lord, Taylor – Prayer of the Hurting
  • TJ Martin, Interlochen – How to Play a Brass Instrument, Movement 1 ONLY
  • Emily Michielutti, St. Claire Shores – March
  • Molly Monahan, Holland – Hoe-Down
  • Gabe Novak, Ann Arbor – Sure on this Shining Night
  • Tim Parsons, West Bloomfield – Rising From the Desert
  • Anvit Rao, Ann Arbor – Through the Ebony Woods
  • Aditya Ravi, Novi – The Flowing River
  • Connor Reinman, Gross Point Farms – Stars
  • Aliya Uitan, Interlochen – w.J.e
  • Jonathan Valente, Gross Pointe Farms – Sudden Sunset
  • Harrison Witt, Rockford – Alone In the Dark




  • Jesse Brewer: Minuet in D Major
  • Brett Briggs: Lonely Isle
  • Lydia Rinzler: Recovery
  • Hannah Ayrault: Love Is Louder
  • Timothy Parsons: Hope
  • Darion Roberts: Fortune’s Fool
  • Maria Zurbuchen: The Hornet
  • Amy Sun: I am Free at Last
  • Melanie Check: Lullaby
  • Harriet Steinke: Forza Interiore
  • Tyler Eschenda:l Lucky You
  • Ivan C. Hotham: New Life
  • Adam Inkner: Falling Apart
  • Manisha Dayananda: Hasta el Final
  • Lydia J. Roth: The Four Temperaments: Movements III, IV
  • Sam Watson: New Life
  • Alyssa Campbell: Reminiscence